Suffolk County Child Support Attorney
Although both parents are required to pay child support, it is generally assumed that the custodial parent will pay support through providing for the child while he or she is residing with the parent. Therefore, child support typically refers to the amount of money the non-custodial parent is required to pay.
An experienced family law attorney can explain your child support obligations and provide you with skilled representation to ensure your interests are fully protected. In Suffolk County and Nassau County, many men and women turn to the Law Offices of Shawn R. Kassman.
We are located in the heart of Central Islip and provide quality family law and divorce representation to men and women throughout Suffolk County and Nassau County, including the areas in and around Bayshore, Oakdale, Sayville, Riverhead, Port Jefferson, Brentwood and Holtsville.
Our attorneys will take the time to listen to you and provide you with your options and our experienced advice. Whether you are involved in a divorce or seeking a child support modification, you will appreciate the straight-forward answers and zealous representation.
Our track record of success is attributable to our skill, knowledge and hard work. We understand the stakes and we are here to help you resolve your family law issue, including child support, as cost-efficiently and expeditiously as possible without sacrificing quality. Let us help you.
To speak with an experienced Suffolk County family law attorney about your child support matter, please call 631-232-9479 (toll-free 1-888-545-2944).
Attorney To Assist You With Understanding New York Child Support Laws
In New York, the Child Support Standard Act determines the amount of child support the non-custodial parent must pay as a percentage from his or her gross income based on the number of children.
- 1 Child = 17% of the non custodial parents’ gross income for child support
- 2 Children = 25% of the non custodial parents’ gross income for child support
- 3 Children = 29% of the non custodial parents’ gross income for child support
- 4 Children = 31% of the non custodial parents’ gross income for child support
- 5 Children = 335% of the non custodial parents’ gross income for child support
The non-custodial parent is obligated to pay child support until the child’s 21st birthday, unless the child becomes emancipated, which occurs when the child is either employed full time or no longer living at home.
The parents may deviate from the act’s regulations if they agree to their own terms of child support.
Contact An Experienced Suffolk County Child Support Attorney
If you have Family Law or Child Support related questions, please call attorney Shawn Kassman or a member of his legal team at 631-232-9479 (toll-free 888-545-2944) or fill out our online intake form. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and represent clients located in Central Islip (main office location), Holtsville (office location), Bayshore, Brentwood, Oakdale, Sayville, Port Jefferson and Riverhead and both Suffolk and Nassau counties.